FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

thinkspace presents:
"Square Foot" featuring an installation, new works and a curated group show from Blaine Fontana
November 10 - December 1, 2006
Opening Reception: Friday, November 10th, 2006 from 7PM until 11PM

thinkspace
4210 Santa Monica Blvd. (near Sunset Junction), Los Angles, CA 90029
323.913.3375
Contact, Andrew Hosner                                                       
E-mail, contact@sourharvest.com
Web site, http://www.thinkspacegallery.com
Our full exhibition line up for 2006 is available for viewing on our site.
Look for our 2007 exhibit schedule to be announced soon.
Gallery hours: Thursday through Sunday 1-6 PM (or by appointment)



SHOW OVERVIEW:
For Square Foot, Blaine will be doing a site-specific installation in our front room, along with displaying a small selection of new works. The front room is going to be covered from floor to ceiling with old pieces of wood that Blaine has been foraging about for during the past couple of months. Varying in depth and several layers thick in places, nestled in amongst the massive wood installation will be new works from Blaine on display for the first time. For our main gallery space, Blaine has brought together a group of over 50 artists, ranging the entire spectrum of the current movement. From graffiti and fine art to illustration and design, all facets of the movement are on display. They have all created works on 12” x 12” wood panels that Blaine built and provided to them. The works in the group show will be exhibited in a random grid pattern, and all will be tied together by graphic flourishes that Blaine will be adding to the main gallery space.
 
Show website: http://www.thesquarefoot.com

BLAINE FONTANA BIO:
Born in Seattle, WA and raised on Bainbridge Is. (a small and private artistic community west of Seattle), Blaine began his interest in art at a young age. Always encouraged to use his imagination, he continued to study and practice the arts whenever available. During his teens he commuted to two High Schools in order to study graphic design, photography, sculpture and life drawing, or whatever else was available. He was awarded a 2nd place award for best sculpture and a 1st place photography award through local arts associations during his time at both High Schools. After graduating in 1994, he pursued his education of life in the streets of Seattle and Portland as a Writer (Graffiti Artist).

After about 4 years of being in and out of towns and community colleges, Blaine and his younger brother decided to put their talents in the professional arena. Both choose to attend Otis College of Art and Design in Los Angeles. Four years later Blaine left with a BFA in Communication Art/Design at the top of his class with the “Best in Show” award that is presented upon Graduation in 2002. During School he worked as an Art Director at a cutting edge design firm (Abound LLC.) and also as a Graphic Designer at a Fashion/Lifestyle Magazine (Metro.Pop). Recently Blaine had worked as an Art Director at a young men’s apparel company (Drifter), but in January of 2003 he decided to leave the 9-5 world and be self-employed as a fine artist and designer. Since then he hasn’t looked back. Blaine has been doing graphics/illustrations/paintings for Pacific Sunwear, Ubiquity Recordings, LRG, Volcom, Metro.Pop, FLIP, Stifle, Cannibal Flower Art Collective, Morey Boards, Don O’Melveny Gallery, Square Blue Art, District 3, Blue Bottle Art Gallery, and numerous others. He shows at least once a month in or around Southern California and is represented in several gallery’s along the west coast.

Currently Blaine works in Long Beach, CA as a full time artist. He has being showing frequently on the west Coast and is rapidly receiving local and national interest as a rising artist to look out for amongst serious art collectors and gallery owners. When he is not spending his time in art, he volunteers his time as co-art director and webmaster on the RTEA board, a non profit organization that raises money for art supplies for inner-city elementary schools. You might also see Blaine’s work and involvement in Gallery 825/Los Angeles Arts Association, Antipodwear, a global art collective represented in Spain & Australia, and dedicated hours to the E.V.A. (East Village Arts Association), a non profit arts organization that betters the Long Beach, CA downtown arts district.
 
Artist website: www.blainefontana.com http://www.blainefontana.com

-----

GROUP SHOW CURATED BY BLAINE FONTANA IN OUR MAIN GALLERY FEATURING:

• All works created on 12” x 12” wood panels built and provided by Blaine Fontana

·       2H
·       7Teen (Dennis Hayes) www.7teen.us
·       Erik Abel www.abelarts.com
·       Jason Shawn Alexander www.jasonshawnalexander.com
·       Tina Anderson
·       Angry Woebots www.armyofsnipers.com
·       Thomas Lee Bakofsky www.bakofsky.com
·       LeAnne Biank www.eyesorestudios.com
·       Kelsey Brookes www.kelseybrookes.com
·       Shahid Brown www.shahidbrown.com
·       Freddi C www.freddic.com
·       Jeaneen Carlino
·       Paul Chatem www.paulchatem.com
·       Josh Clay www.jclayart.com
·       L. Croskey
·       Mathew Curry www.ninjacruise.com
·       Brendan Danielson www.bdanielsson.com
·       Ekundayo
·       Frank Gonzales www.frankgonzales.net
·       Thomas Han www.tomorama.com
·       Brandon Herrick
·       Jesse Hotchkiss www.jessehotchkiss.com
·       Wilson Hsu www.wilsonhsu.com
·       Stella Im Hultberg www.stellaimhultberg.com
·       Chris Huth http://www.huthmarks.com
·       Hydro 74 www.hydro74.com
·       Sylvia Ji www.sylviaji.com
·       Eugenie Jolivett www.whatitsabout.com
·       Audrey Kawasaki www.audrey-kawasaki.com
·       Kofie One www.keepdrafting.com
·       Joshua Krause www.krauseart.com
·       Tim McCormick www.timmccormickart.com
·       Alex Meyer http://www.alexjmeyer.com
·       Brandi Milne www.brandimilne.com
·       Mark Murphy www.murphydesign.com
·       James Naccarato www.jamesnaccarato.com
·       Randy Noborikawa
·       Kathie Olivas www.miserychildren.com
·       Kristian Olson www.kristianolson.com
·       Erik Otto www.erikotto.com
·       Joshua Petker www.joshuapetker.com
·       Sanithna Phansavanh www.sircle.net
·       Isaac Pierro www.isaacpierro.com
·       Lesley Reppeteaux www.reppeteaux.com 
·       Richard Salcido www.richardsalcido.com
·       Joe Shea (#9) www.jshea9.com
·       Michael Sieben www.msieben.com
·       Siloette www.siloette.com
·       Chris Silva www.chrissilva.com
·       Damon Soule www.damonsoule.com
·       Jophen Stein
·       Stone www.fusedmetals.com
·       Josh Taylor www.joshtaylorart.net
·       Tes One www.tesone.net
·       Jason Thielke www.jasonthielke.com
·       Sage Vaughn www.sagevaughn.com
·       Oliver Vernon www.oliververnon.com
·       Kelly Vivanco www.kellyvivanco.com

-----

Coming up in December:
Oddica presents “Cotton To Canvas” one-night only event http://www.oddica.com
 
“Naughty Or Nice” featuring new works from Amy Sol, Stella Im Hultberg, KuKula, Aaron Kraten, Brandi Milne, Jenna “Soopajdelux” Colby, Siloette, 2H, Josh Clay, Ekundayo, Matt Dickson, Zoso, Lilly Piri, Tina Anderson, Siloette and a featured installation from Jaime “Germs” Zacarias

Coming up January 2007:
“The Rememberlings” featuring new work and an installation from Lola
 
*Check our site for our full exhibition schedule for 2007.

-----


Gallery sponsors:
Sour Harvest http://www.sourharvest.com
Cannibal Flower http://www.cannibalflower.com
Workhorse Visuals http://www.workhorsevisuals.com
Deity Group http://www.deitygroup.com
Media Temple http://www.mediatemple.net
Websmith Solutions http://www.websmithsolutions.com




Return to Gallery Pages